District Council of
Karoonda East Murray


Rates may be paid by the following means

  1. BPAY: see front of your rate notice for BPAY biller code and reference number.  Please Note that Debtor and Dog registration payments are not to be made by BPAY
  2. In Person: at 11 Railway Terrace, Karoonda where EFTPOS and credit card facilities are available or phone the Council Offices during business hours on 08 85781004 to make a payment by credit card.
  3. Mail: make cheques payable to: District Council of Karoonda East Murray and mark "Not Negotiable". Mail payments with bottom section of notice to: District Council of Karoonda East Murray, PO Box 58, Karoonda SA 5307.
To avoid fines mail payments must reach the Council office on or before the due date.
In accordance with the Local Government Act, 1999 Council is required to offer to its ratepayers the opportunity to pay rates in four equal instalments payable on;
  • 19th September, 2017
  • 19th December, 2017
  • 19th March, 2018
  • 19th June, 2018

State Government Concessions

Until this year, the State Government funded concessions on Council rates, were formerly available to the holders of pensioner concession cards, veterans, low-income earners, unemployed, students and self-funded retirees.  These concessions were all abolished by the State Government with effect from 30 June 2015.

From 1 July 2015, the State Government has elected to replace these concessions with a single “cost-of-living payment” provided directly to those entitled. This payment may be used to offset Council rates.  Note that not all former recipients of rates concessions will be entitled to the new payment.  To check eligibility, contact the Department for Communities and Social Inclusion (DCSI) Concessions Hotline 1800 307 758 or at www.sa.gov.au.  The separate concession entitlements for Council Community Waste Water Schemes (CMWS) remain unchanged.  Should you be entitled to the State Government funded concession on CWMS rates this will be reflected on the front of this rate notice.

Certain persons/and or organisations may be eligible for a rebate, eg community groups, health and education organisations etc.  Phone 85781004 or email council@dckem.sa.gov.au for further information

For further information about rates and the services provided by Council to the Community please refer to Council's Annual Business Plan 2016-2017 adopted at the 8 August 2017 meeting of Council.

11 Railway Terrace

PO Box 58

Karoonda SA 5307

Tel: 08 8578 1004

Fax: 08 8578 1246

Email: council@dckem.sa.gov.au

@ District Council Karoonda Murray East. All rights reserved
Contact Us|Disclaimer|Privacy|Site Map|Credits