There are two licensed Cemeteries, in our area - Galga and Karoonda.  The Galga Cemetery is located north-east of Karoonda on the Bakara Road.  The Karoonda Cemetery is located south-east of Karoonda on Bruce Road.

Whilst the Hundred of Bowhill has been annexed into Karoonda East Murray, the Bowhill Cemetery is under the care and control of the Mid Murray Council.

In 1992 the Karoonda Apex Club erected a Granite Memorial Wall at the Karoonda Cemetery to provide the people of our community with an alternative to burial.

Council maintains registers of burials for cemeteries. A copy of the register or an excerpt may be obtained by contacting the Council offices.

There are also closed and disused cemeteries in the towns of Bakara, Borrika, Halidon, Lowaldie, Marama, Mindarie, Perponda, Sandalwood, Wanbi, Wynarka.

Please feel free to contact our friendly staff if you have any queries, email, phone (08) 8578 1004 or visit the Offices 9am - 5pm Monday to Friday at 11 Railway Terrace, Karoonda SA 5307.


We are currently transferring our burial records to this site.  Please check back with us soon.



Click to scroll to page topClick to go to home page
Print page
 11 Railway Terrace
Karoonda, South Australia
PO Box 58, Karoonda SA 5307
Tel : 61 08 8578 1004
Fax : 61 08 8578 1246
Email: council@dckem.sa.gov.au
Disclaimer | Privacy Statement | Copyright District Council of Karoonda